The Second Chakra: Swadhisthana (Sacral)

The second chakra, Swadhisthana, is located in the lower abdomen and is concerned with the main issues of emotional balance and sexuality.

Swadhisthana is concerned with the main issues of emotional balance and sexuality. This chakra represents all of our pleasures and desires. This is in the form of physical, sexual and all material desires.

Emotional stress is the main reason behind this chakra being blocked. As this chakra rules the emotional body, it can directly affect the heart and throat chakras.

When Swadhisthana is unbalanced, compulsive-obsessive habits and addictions may form. Depression can also be a side-effect of sacral chakra imbalance. The more we chase earthly desires, the more we are distracted from our spiritual growth.

The danger with desires is that the more we fulfil, the more we want. Thus, we will never be satisfied and it leaves us wanting more and more each time. This will become addiction and the constant unsatisfied feeling means that we will never be happy in life.

Do you feel like your sacral chakra may be blocked? Take this free 30-second quiz to find out!

To find balance in Swadhisthana, we need to know where to draw the line with our material desires. The middle point is where we are not depriving ourselves and not overindulging either.

When Swadhisthana is balanced, we are able to express our emotions to others in an empowering and positive way.

The Second Chakra: Swadhisthana (Sacral)

Sanskrit name: Swadhisthana

Element: Water

Colour: Vermillion orange

Represented by: Lotus with six petals

Bija mantra: Vam

Energy flow: Anti-clockwise

Auric layer: Emotional body

Location: Lower abdomen

Regulates: reproductive organs, kidneys, bladder, prostate, pelvis, body fluids, adrenal glands, lower-back

Sense: Taste (tongue)

Associated with: Sexuality, procreation, material and earthly desires, emotional balance, sensuality

Crystals: Carnelian, honey calcite, orange calcite, moonstone, sunstone

Essential oils: Clary sage, ginger, juniper berry, cypress, jasmine, rosewood

Sacral Chakra Crystals
The Second Chakra: Swadhisthana (Sacral)

Please note that some of the links in this post may be affiliate links and any purchase made through the links will give us a small commission (at absolutely no extra cost to you). These funds help us to keep sharing good vibes through this journal. Please read our Affiliate Disclaimer for more info.

Scroll to Top