The Sixth Chakra: Ajna (Third Eye)

The sixth chakra, Ajna, is located on the forehead between the eyebrows. This chakra is referred to as the third eye chakra and is our seat of wisdom and intuition.

This chakra is associated with being one with the Universe and a celestial love that extends beyond the physical human range of love. Ajna is awakened when we completely let go of the ego and embrace all life beings with the purest form of love.

When ego ends, the third eye will awaken for the first time and present a state of non-duality or transcendence. This allows us to grow spiritually and progress on a spiritual journey.

Do you feel like your third eye chakra may be blocked? Take this free 30-second quiz to find out!

Clearing the third eye chakra is vital for developing higher intuition and psychic powers, such as clairvoyance or precognition. At one point or another during our personal growth, we will realise that there is a universal wisdom available to us. We will no longer make decisions based on ego or fear.

A balanced Ajna chakra allows us to fully trust our intuition and have faith in the unknown, which comes from a higher source of information that the human mind cannot comprehend. There is no right or wrong, no logical or illogical – there is only faith.

When we activate our third eye chakra, we are able to channel and spread universal love and positivity to those around us. The power of imagination and intuition has a positive impact on others and improves the quality of life for all beings.

When the third eye chakra is not yet awakened, we can feel never ending mental and emotional stress or a feeling of meaningless existence. Narrow-mindedness and an inability to visualise a positive future can also signify a blocked Ajna.

Crystals that assist with opening the third eye chakra are azurite, sodalite and lapis lazuli.

To awaken a sleepy third eye chakra, try essential oils like rosemary, basil, eucalyptus and frankincense to stimulate the brain. To reduce mental stress, oils such as sandalwood and blue lotus can help relax the mind and achieve a peaceful state.

Sanskrit name: Ajna

Element: All of the five elements

Colour: Indigo 

Represented by: Lotus with two petals

Bija mantra: Om

Energy flow: Anti-clockwise

Auric layer: Celestial body

Location: Between the eyebrows

Regulates: Pituitary glands, eyes, nose, sinuses, head, face

Sense: Sixth sense (mind)

Associated with: Detachment, discernment, inspiration, knowledge, divine wisdom, higher self

Focus and intent: Being one with the Universe, being present and connection with our higher self

Crystals: Azurite, lapis lazuli, sodalite, blue fluorite, sugilite

Essential oils: Frankincense, sandalwood, rosemary, basil, blue lotus, lavender

Crystals for Third Eye Chakra

Please note that some of the links in this post may be affiliate links and any purchase made through the links will give us a small commission (at absolutely no extra cost to you). These funds help us to keep sharing good vibes through this journal. Please read our Affiliate Disclaimer for more info.

Scroll to Top