Feeling off? It could be blocked chakras

Chakras has always been something that fascinates me. As human beings, I’ve always thought of us as more than just mere flesh and bones. Even my favourite poet Rumi writes, “We are stars wrapped in skin. The light you are seeking has always been within.” Was he referring to chakras? Probably not but take it as you will. The summarised concept of chakras is that we are dynamic energy beings, with our chakras being the very foundation of this energetic system.

Each of the seven chakras represents a different aspect of our being, from our physical health to our emotional and spiritual wellbeing. In the event that one or more of these chakras becomes blocked or imbalanced, it can lead to a range of issues that can impact every area of our lives.

In this blog post, I’m going to relay all that I’ve learnt about chakras and how to identify the signs and symptoms of a blocked chakra.

Quick Links

Understanding the Seven Chakras

Trying to wrap your head around the concept of chakras can be overwhelming. But don’t worry, I’ll try to summarise it as best as I can!

In essence, the seven chakras run along your spine from the base all the way up to the crown of your head. Each chakra is associated with its own unique colour, sound and vibration. You can think of it as a musical scale for your body!

I’ve simplified the key locations and representations of the seven chakras for you.

Here they are, in order from spine to crown:

First | Root Chakra

Location: At the base of the spine

Represents: Our foundation, stability, and sense of grounding

Second | Sacral Chakra

Location: Below the navel

Represents: Our creativity, sexuality, and emotions

Third | Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Above the navel

Represents: Our personal power, confidence, and self-esteem

Fourth | Heart Chakra

Location: In the centre of the chest

Represents: Our ability to love, give, and receive love

Fifth | Throat Chakra

Location: In the throat

Represents: Our ability to communicate, express ourselves, and speak our truth

Sixth | Third Eye Chakra

Location: In the centre of the forehead

Represents: Our intuition, insight, and spiritual awareness

Seventh | Crown Chakra

Location: At the top of the head

Represents: Our connection to the divine, enlightenment, and higher consciousness

To deepen your understanding of each chakra and how to balance them, check out the articles I’ve written about each one.

Woman meditating near sea. Scheme of seven chakras.
Image: Shutterstock

Signs and Symptoms of Blocked Chakras

Blocked chakras can trigger a plethora of physical, emotional, and spiritual symptoms, indicating that something is not quite right in your energy centres. To help you identify if you have a blocked chakra, here are some common signs and symptoms to look out for:

Blocked Root Chakra Symptoms

  • Feeling disconnected from your body or surroundings
  • Physical issues like constipation, lower back pain, or fatigue
  • Financial insecurity or lack of stability
  • Fear and anxiety

Blocked Sacral Chakra Symptoms

  • Lack of creativity and inspiration
  • Sexual dysfunction or disconnection
  • Emotional instability or mood swings
  • Addiction or overindulgence in food or substances

Blocked Solar Plexus Chakra Symptoms

  • Low self-esteem and confidence
  • Difficulty making decisions or taking action
  • Digestive issues or stomach problems
  • Control issues or power struggles

Blocked Heart Chakra Symptoms

  • Difficulty giving or receiving love and compassion
  • Feeling isolated or disconnected from others
  • Relationship issues or heartbreak
  • Respiratory or cardiovascular problems

Blocked Throat Chakra Symptoms

  • Difficulty expressing yourself or speaking your truth
  • Social anxiety or fear of public speaking
  • Thyroid or throat issues
  • Creative blocks or difficulty communicating effectively

Blocked Third Eye Chakra Symptoms

  • Lack of intuition or spiritual awareness
  • Confusion or lack of clarity
  • Headaches or vision problems
  • Difficulty manifesting desires or setting intentions

Blocked Crown Chakra Symptoms

  • Feeling disconnected from the divine or higher power
  • Lack of purpose or direction in life
  • Spiritual bypassing or over-intellectualising spirituality
  • Migraines or neurological issues

How Do I Know if My Chakras are Blocked?

Take control of your chakra health and uncover any blockages by utilising the following techniques. Here are some ways to help you identify which chakra needs your attention.


Trust your intuition and listen to your body. If you feel a particular physical or emotional issue, it may be a sign of a blocked chakra. For example, if you have digestive issues or stomach problems, it may indicate a blockage in your solar plexus chakra.

Energy Healing Practitioner

To identify a blocked chakra and restore its energy flow, consider seeking the assistance of an experienced energy healing practitioner. They can use various techniques like Reiki, chakra scanning, or intuitive healing to identify which chakra needs balancing.

Chakra Balancing Practices

Once you have identified which chakra needs balancing, you can use various practices to balance it. Here are some effective chakra balancing practices:


Meditation is an excellent way to balance and unblock your chakras. You can use guided chakra meditations or focus on the specific chakra that needs balancing. Visualise the chakra turning and spinning, and imagine its colour becoming brighter and more vibrant.


Yoga poses can also help balance your chakras. With that in mind, by practicing specific yoga poses, you can activate and balance each of your chakras. It’s fascinating to note that each yoga pose is intimately connected to a specific energy centre. For instance, the tree pose is linked to the root chakra, which represents stability and grounding. Similarly, the cobra pose is connected to the heart chakra, which is associated with love, compassion, and emotional balance.


Affirmations are positive statements that can help reprogram your subconscious mind and balance your chakras. You can use specific affirmations for each chakra, like “I am grounded and secure” for the root chakra or “I am open to receiving love and compassion” for the heart chakra.

Sound Healing

Sound healing uses specific frequencies and vibrations to balance and activate your chakras. You can listen to chakra-specific music or use singing bowls, gongs, or tuning forks to balance your chakras.

Maintaining a Balanced Energy Flow in Your Chakras

At the end of the day, maintaining a balanced energy flow in your chakras is essential for optimal health and wellbeing. By understanding the seven chakras, identifying the signs and symptoms of blocked chakras, and using various chakra balancing practices and healing modalities, you can achieve balance and harmony in your life.


  • Minoo, R., & Ratan, R. (2019). Journey Through The Chakras. Rockpool Publishing.
  • Toy, F. (2019). The Power Of Chakras. Hinkler Books.

Disclaimer: The concept of chakras and energy healing is not supported by mainstream science and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical or mental health advice. The information provided on chakras is meant for educational and entertainment purposes only. If you have any physical or mental health concerns, please consult a qualified healthcare professional.

Woman with blocked chakras

Please note that some of the links in this post may be affiliate links and any purchase made through the links will give us a small commission (at absolutely no extra cost to you). These funds help us to keep sharing good vibes through this journal. Please read our Affiliate Disclaimer for more info.

Scroll to Top