The Fourth Chakra: Anahata (Heart)

The fourth chakra, Anahata, sits in the middle of the chest and is concerned with the astral body and universal love. The heart chakra is the bridge between the physical and spiritual planes of existence.

As the name suggests, Anahata, sits in the middle of the chest.

Anahata is concerned with the astral body and is about universal love. The heart chakra is the bridge between the physical and spiritual planes of existence.

This chakra is about unconditional acceptance and love for all living things and everything pertaining to the Universe.

When the heart chakra is blocked, we begin to form strong emotional attachments to people and things, which turn into expectations. 

We can confuse this with love, however, unfulfilled expectations of others only brings us pain, agony and trauma.

Do you feel like your heart chakra may be blocked? Take this free 30-second quiz to find out!

This very important chakra reigns over our vital life force and the organs for our survival. Too many egotistic attachments can weigh heavy on Anahata and cause problems in the area.

An unbalanced heart chakra can leave us denying empathy and can create a lack of compassion for others. Thus, removing all joy from our lives, resulting in a pessimistic lifestyle. This will take a toll on relationships and may end up pushing loved ones away.

Too much compassion can leave us feeling used and depleted. We need to balance the amount of love and empathy that we give and receive.

All green crystals can help activate the heart chakra including jade, malachite and emerald. Rose quartz, although pink, is also a great crystal for the heart chakra.

Leaf oils work well with Anahata. Peppermint, spearmint, tea tree and eucalyptus are all good for the respiratory system.

Heart Chakra

Sanskrit name: Anahata

Element: Air

Colour: Green

Represented by: Lotus with twelve petals

Bija mantra: Yam

Energy flow: Anti-clockwise

Auric layer: Astral body

Location: Middle of the chest

Regulates: Heart, lungs, circulation, hands, shoulders, chest, upper back

Sense: Touch (skin)

Associated with: Love, kindness, generosity, compassion, forgiveness

Focus and intent: Giving and receiving unconditional love

Crystals: Malachite, peridot, rose quartz, emerald, green tourmaline, amazonite, green aventurine, moldavite, jade

Essential oils: Lavender, eucalyptus, tea tree, peppermint, rose, geranium

Heart Chakra Crystals

Please note that some of the links in this post may be affiliate links and any purchase made through the links will give us a small commission (at absolutely no extra cost to you). These funds help us to keep sharing good vibes through this journal. Please read our Affiliate Disclaimer for more info.

Scroll to Top